Hangin’ with your Floors and Backdrops!

I am painting a picture in my head.  You place your order…Stalk the Delivery Man…And at last, your brand new floors and backdrops arrive!  You are so excited to have them and cannot wait to use them in upcoming sessions.  The only problem, you aren’t sure how to hang them.  Well today, we have decided to share some ideas from your fellow photographers on how they hang and store their backdrops…Take a look!

Heidi says:

“I’m going to nail two binder type artist clips to my wall and hang them from there.”

Here is how our good friend Julie hangs her backdrops:

Kelly explains:

“Thought I would share how I hang my backdrops… I work from a home studio and have a removable curtain rod that I was attaching my backdrops to with heavy duty clamps from Home Depot…Wasn’t too happy with this method because I found it left slight ripples on the backdrops so…I went to a local fabric shop and asked them for the card board tubing that they use for their fabric bolts.  They were more then happy to GIVE them to me (better to recycle then to throw them out!)  I then used a staple gun (with not too big of a staple and stapled the top of the back drop to the card board tube which is now easy to roll up and store plus it just slides on to my curtain rod so easily.  If I decide to use the backdrop as a floor, I just make sure the tube is to the side or away from the wall…I’m sure everyone has a method that works for them but so far, this has worked the best for me…”

Here’s a photo of Carrianne’s Studio

Jolene says:

“I go to the local hardware store and cut sections of wooden closet rods (about 1.5 inches in diameter) and about a foot longer than the drops. I then drill holes in each end so they slide down over top my backdrop stands. I go the expensive way and velcro them to the rods and then roll them up on the rod for storage and transport. I have an extra rod that I use at the bottom to add a little weight to the piece on the floor. This is not the cheapest method, but it works for me. ”

Check out what Heather suggests:

“I attached 2 curtain rods and different heights to the wall in the studio, I then clamp the backdrops on when I’m using one. I store them in the tubes they were shipped in, with a picture of each backdrop on the outside of the tube for reference.”

Annet went to her local fabric store and asked for empty tubes that the “home style” fabrics come on, and rolls the back drops on that.  Then she explains, “I have a manfrotto system for my seamless backdrop paper, and I purchased two individual brackets mounted those underneath and now I have room for 6 rolls at one time, the rest is stored in a closet, it’s not the cheapest way but it looks nice, clean,organized AND professional”

Stacy H.’s set up looks like this:


Virginia says:

“I just purchased an inexpensive piece of panel board (about 18 bucks), and had it cut to the size of my drops. My plan is to stand the panel board up and clamp it to my backdrop stand and then clamp the drop to the panel board so it is nice and tight. Another plus is that you can prop the panel board with drop attached up against a wall so your subject can lean on it for added use. I’ll be trying it out this weekend, but I’ve done it with a piece of privacy fence outdoors and it worked very well.”

A recent set-up for Silver Image looked like this:

Here is an awesome shot from one of our clients, Melinda that shows a Before and After of her studio set-up.

And finally…Here are several shots from the Queen of Photo Prop Floors and Backdrops.  Our very own Jen Rinaldi!

We  hope you enjoyed all of these ideas.  Wow, we certainly have some inventive clients.  You guys ROCK!  If you have any other ideas on how to store and hang your Photo Prop products, post them in the comments.  We would LOVE to know!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hangin’ with your Floors and Backdrops!

  1. Krystian says:

    On average, how many square feet is your flooring for newborn/toddler photographing?

Leave a Reply

